Tuition Fees: Arts & Social Sciences Domestic 2018

Amounts are per unit of credit (UOC). Students are charged based on their student status (domestic or international) and the classification of the course (undergraduate, postgraduate or research), also known as the course career or study level of the course. To calculate the fee for a course refer to the course prefix (e.g. MDIA) and the course classification (e.g. Postgraduate), then multiply by the UOC value of the course, available from the Handbook.

Example: A domestic postgraduate student is enrolling in a Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences course, MDIA5000, which has a value of 6 UOC and the course is classified as postgraduate. The fee for this course will be $510 x 6 = $3060.

Tuition rates

Course Details Course Classification
Prefix School Under­grad­uate Post­grad­uate
ARTS Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences $705 $510
ASIA Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences $705 $510
AUST Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences $705 $510
CHIN School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
COMD School of Social Sciences $705 $510
CRIM School of Social Sciences $705 $510
DANC School of the Arts & Media $705 na
EDST School of Education $705 $510
ENGL School of the Arts & Media $705 $510
ENVP School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
EURO Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences $705 $510
FREN School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
GENT Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences $705 na
GERS School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
GLST Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences $705 $510
GREK School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
HIST School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
HPSC School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
HUMS Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences $705 $510
IEST School of Humanities & Languages $825 $550
INDO School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
INST Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences $705 $510
INTD Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences $705 $510
IRSH Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences $705 $510
ITAL School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
JAPN School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
JWST School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
KORE School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
LATN School of Humanities & Languages $705 na
LING School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
MDCM School of the Arts & Media $705 $510
MDIA School of the Arts & Media $705 $510
MEFT School of the Arts & Media $705 $510
MODL School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
MUSC School of the Arts & Media $705 $510
PECO School of Social Sciences $705 $510
PHIL School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
POLS School of Social Sciences $705 $510
RUSS School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
SLSP School of Social Sciences $705 $510
SOCA School of Social Sciences $705 $510
SOCF School of Social Sciences na $510
SOCW School of Social Sciences $705 $510
SPAN School of Humanities & Languages $705 $510
SRAP Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences $705 $510
WOMS Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences $705 $510


The table above shows indicative tuition fee amounts for 2018 for Domestic full fee-paying students.

The fees listed on this table are in Australian dollars (AUD). Tuition fees are reviewed annually and may increase each year. Students are charged tuition at the rate corresponding to the year of the Census date applicable to their enrolment in a course. The University of New South Wales makes every attempt to ensure that all information is current. However, the University reserves the right to amend any or all of the information above without notice in response to changing circumstances or for any other reason.

About courses

A course is defined by the Academic Board as

'a component of an academic program, normally of one term or semester in duration, with a specific credit value'. Each approved course of the University is identified by a sequence of eight characters, consisting of a four character alphabetical prefix which identifies the organisational unit responsible for administering the course, and a four digit numeric suffix which identifies the course. Each course has a unit of credit value defined.

Course identifiers are approved by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic and the system of allocation is based on the following guidelines:
1.  A four character alphabetical prefix is used to indicate the subject area. This usually correlates with the authority offering the course (normally a School of the University), but in some cases identifies subject specialisations or cross-disciplinary subject areas.
2. Each course identifier is unique and is not used for more than one course title.

Courses offered are listed and described in the Handbook. The subject areas and organisational units for each identifying alphabetical prefix are also described in the Specialisations section of the Handbook.

 Last updated 4 October 2017

Back to top